forteacher.blogg.se

Can you boot from an sd card
Can you boot from an sd card






can you boot from an sd card

Until now I've had a few units, amongst them som Android tablets and convertibles.įor storage I will be using the 2 TB drive from my previous working pc, a Dell Presicion M6500 17" monster, as a data disk connected by USB to the server in my house. I figured it would finally be possible to use this as the single unit I wanted, with working (I work as a translator with video files as the source material), reading comicbooks (the 3:2 screen is perfect for that, it beats the out of the popular, but rather stupid 16:9 format) and general surfing and reading. Maybe I should then partition out a few GB on the RAID 10 NL SAS drives for the Hyper V OS.I bought my first Surface a week ago, an i5 with 128 gig SSD, since the price for the one step larger is quite a bit higher. My plan are to RAID 10 the SSD drives and RAID 10 the NL SAS drives. The server came with 4 X 900GB SSD drives and 4 X 1TB NL SAS drives. I believe that the dual SD card reader module is then a waste for me :( The addon Dell Boss card might just be out of my budget aswell. Thank you for everyone with their input here much appreciated. Totally different performance profile to SD cards, so updates are no big deal, and they free up drive bays quite nicely. Definite IOPS and write hit, but depending on your use case it might be appropriate.įor my Supermicros, I use their DOM USB-SATA-SSD drives and the smallest I've got are 64GB - they work great. If you really need the space, I would be OK with 1TB NL-SAS drives in RAID5, for that matter. Carve out 64 GB or more for a boot partition on the NL-SAS array and make sure your BIOS is configured for UEFI and use GPT.

can you boot from an sd card

Geeze, for those SSD's I would definitely consider RAID5, you'll get 50% more usable space and your IOPS will still be really good.








Can you boot from an sd card